Etsy Feature : An Interview with Spoiled Rockin

Standard

I adore jewelry, but with a young son who loves tugging on things, I’ve had to limit myself to almost nothing lately…  but that hasn’t stopped me from drooling over the amazing pieces at Spoiled Rockin.  The combination of colors, materials and style give each piece a graceful drama.  Suitable for day or evening wear, you’ll find something to match your style at this lovely little shop.  

 

Evening Shade Shell Necklace by Spoiled Rockin

Evening Shade Shell Necklace by Spoiled Rockin

 

 

 

What are your favorite methods or materials to use when creating? 
I love anything blue. My favorite right now is Shell, or anything else that is natural. I also love beads with patterns on them. I recognize that my jewelry designs are rather indulgent, and I love that!

What brought you to Etsy? Do you sell locally in your community as well? 
I was selling on ebay for a bit, but the fees were so outragous, it was’nt really worth it for me. I found etsy when I was reading through the artist community page in craigslist. I’d seen the etsy name several times, and finally decided to check it out. I’ve been hooked ever since. As for selling locally, I’m really just getting started. I have two events scheduled here locally for Nov. They will be my first, and I’m so excited!

How long have you been crafting? Do you try to create something new every day, or just when the mood strikes?
I’ve been drawing and painting since high school. I got into making jewelry about 13 years ago, when cool beads were hard to find. I don’t create something everyday, I go in spurts. I don’t like to keep making the same design, so when I think of something new, I get excited and will go two or three days straight. Then I’ll take a week break.

What is your favorite piece in your shop right now?
My favorite piece in my shop right now is an asymmetrical necklace titled “Relax in a Hammock”. The “Beach/Ocean” theme is my favorite, and you will find that reflected in many of my pieces.

 

Relax in a Hammock Necklace by Spoiled Rockin

Relax in a Hammock Necklace by Spoiled Rockin

If you could give one piece of advice to someone considering turning their crafting into a business, what would it be? 
Do it now, and start on Etsy. Etsy has really helped me feel more confidence in my designs. I’ve learned that no matter what you make, everyone likes something different.

Who has been your biggest fan/support?
Mom and Dad of course, and my best friend Chrissy. I have great friends who want me to succeed. They often advertise for me more than I do.

Biggest goal for next six months?
As many craft shows as I can get into. Network, network, network. And of course make more fabulous jewelry!

Favorites:
FoodMexican
MusicMaroon 5
Book-(Author) Michael Connelly
MovieMoulin Rouge (fabulous jewelry)

 

More amazing pieces by Spoiled Rockin

More amazing pieces by Spoiled Rockin

Want to see more?  Just visit Spoiled Rockin on Etsy!

3 responses »

  1. Hi!

    I saw your Evening Shade Shell necklace featured on this page and absolutely fell in love with it! I was wondering if is still available to purchase.

    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

