It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World

Standard

bird-sweeping-off_~vl0001b037

My parents are going to be here in just one week… one week from today!!!  Why am I so excited?  Well, besides the fact that my parents happen to be pretty amazing people and I enjoy their company in general, I’m excited because it’s been over a year since I’ve seen them!  One of the downsides to moving across the country is the limited visits from my folks.  When we were living in Idaho, they would drive over every couple of months, but now it’s a bit more complicated traveling. 

So they’re staying at our house, and I’m going to have to get everything ready.  My  mother (bless her heart) loves finding all the things I haven’t cleaned to her standards and “help” me out.  She says it’s her way of blessing me.  Mostly it drives me crazy because with three kids in the house, my standards of cleanliness are not exactly where hers are.  She doesn’t try to be rude about it, and in fact, when I sit and look at it, she is just trying to do exactly what her mother did by helping a mommy out!  Well, I’ve got a list a mile long of walls to wipe down, corners to scrub, and of course the inevitable pile of laundry that needs to be done. 

The problem with all this is that I’ve been sick since this weekend, and now the kids are coming down with it.  How to accomplish so much in such a little time frame? 

The CLOCK method!  That’s right, I’m going to treat my house like it’s a great big clock.  Start at the 12 and work my way around till I get the bottom floor done.  Then it’s upstairs to finish.  I’ve found that if I “work around the clock” I get things done faster and stay on task.  Much as I enjoy making lists, I tend to scamper around the house finishing a project here, starting a project there… the CLOCK method keeps me focused and I tend to finish what I started.  Next time you need to clean your house, or even just a single room, try “working around the clock” and see how fast you go!

3 responses »

  1. that’s a great idea! I will try that and so glad you get to see your folks (I agree that they are pretty cool).

  2. good luck and enjoy ur visit with the folks–how far away are they now from u-life is fun

  3. You can also divide up the work as “wet” and “dry.” Wet being room with running water and dry would be the rest of the rooms. Do a level at a time and then switch levels. Vacuum last to “erase” the footprints

Leave a Reply

