Mummy! I Want A Cupcake!!

Standard

I decided today was a good day to bake, but I had a hard time deciding what I wanted to make.  First I thought a nice big cake- four layers, lots of frosted goodness.  The truth is, I didn’t want to mess around with a cake, so I decided to do something simple and cute in keeping with the month of October.  Mummy Cakes!  I can’t remember where I saw these, but I thought they were super cute and I’ve been dying for an opportunity to try them.  I picked butter pecan cake with a butter rum flavored frosting.  Very sweet, but a little spicy too.

Mummy Cakes

Mummy Cakes

The eyes were the tricky part.  I was going to use Peanut M&Ms but I didn’t have any in the house.  What I did have was a bag of  yellow molding chocolate.  I wanted to make the eyes round, but not too flat and I didn’t have a good mold.  I searched around the house and found that I had one of those bubble packages that cough drops sometimes come in.  I washed it well and used it as my candy mold.

017

I filled the little compartments and put in my freezer to solidify them quickly

I purchased the molding chocolate at JoAnn Fabrics

I purchased the molding chocolate at JoAnn Fabrics

After I made enough chocolate eyes, I got everything ready to frost.  I chose Wilton Tip #47 because it allows you to pipe nice flat lines.  It is a double sided tip so make sure to check before you pipe otherwise you’ll get a more corrugated look.  I attached the chocolate eyes using a little bit of the frosting.

Wilton Tip #47

Wilton Tip #47

Attatch the chocolate eyes to the cupcake using a little frosting

Attatch the chocolate eyes to the cupcake using a little frosting

When applying the frosting I used long strokes.  Don’t try for any sort of pattern here, you want it to look like bandages wrapped around a mummy’s head.  Finally, I used a little dark mint molding chocolate to make little pupils for the eyes.  I had so much fun I even made a little cake!

Mummy and her little kids

Mummy and her little kids

I had so much fun making these, and I hope you try them out this month.  They would be a big hit at a Halloween party!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

