The Aftermath

Standard

 

004

Happy Halloween!

 

Halloween is over for another year and I am sitting in the kitchen looking at a counter full of candy wondering how much I can eat before my kids notice.  My two-year old keeps walking by looking up at me saying “Trick-or-Treat?” and holding out his already chocolate stained hand.  The kids had a fantastic time considering I had them dressed for a cold October night and it was 75 degrees out.  My husband and I spent the evening sweating profusely and swapping stories of Halloween Past.  It was an especially fun Halloween this year because for the first time, my husband didn’t have to work.  He got to enjoy the whining about whose turn it was to ring the doorbell.  He got to experience the cranky attitudes that started to appear soon after my youngest son stepped in a giant puddle and got his feet and pants all wet.  He got to try and keep the kids from covertly shoving large amounts of candy in their mouth in the backseat of the car while we weren’t looking.  Yep, it was Halloween in all it’s glory and he was able to experience every bit!  As if self-induced sugar  comas weren’t bad enough, some genius decided that daylight savings time should end at midnight on Halloween and so of course with their little bodies telling them it was a reasonable 6:30, my kids woke up bouncing off the walls at 5:30am.  Not cool kids.  Not. Cool.

So I sit here munching on a Three Musketeers bar (I caved, so sue me), the older kids are off at school and I’m about to hand my baby man another piece of candy just as soon as he says those magic words…

Leave a Reply

