One Sick Pork Chop

Standard

I just got back from the doctor’s office where they informed me that Pork Chop has a UTI (urinary tract infection) and that it is in part caused by E.coli getting all up in her business.  Now, if you are anything like me, the second you here E.coli, you freak out.  While it’s true that E.coli can be incredibly dangerous (especially in little munchkins), it’s also the most common cause of UTI’s.  The main issue now is to see whether Pork Chop’s kidneys and bladder are doing what they should, or if they are slacking off on the job causing the overabundance of E.coli.  It also could be that one of the other kids picked something up, didn’t wash their hands and passed the germy germs on to her little elf self.  I’m hoping for scenario number two because that doesn’t involve scary words like surgery.  In the meantime, they’ve got PC on some heavy meds and she’s scheduled for a sonogram of her downstairs bits later this week.  Prayers are definitely appreciated.

I find myself wondering if it’s something I’m doing wrong.  My other kids were NEVER sick and so far we’ve had to deal with severe jaundice, RSV and now this.  I know it’s not really me and that my little bug just needs some extra attention, but it’s hard to not blame myself.

I’ll keep you updated as I know more, but in the meantime, keep this little piggy in your thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

