I’m NOT PREGNANT!!

Standard

Things that make me Moonbat Crazy

I went to the airport today to send my Sportie off to see his mom for a month (yep, he’s my heart child, not my birth child), and here I am waiting at the gate for them to board with all my munchkins in tow.  The woman across from me says “Four kids and one on the way?? Wow!  How do you do it?”  WHUCK????!?!?!?!?!?!  I am NOT PREGNANT!!!!!!!

I swallow hard and nod and smile.  I didn’t want to make them feel bad about the mistake…

Later as I’m walking down the hall, someone stops us to ooh and aah over the Pork Chop then smiles up at me and says “It looks like congratulations are in order again!  A baby and another on the way??  How FUN!!”  WHUCK WHUCK WHUCK???!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!!??  I AM NOT PREGNANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And of course, at the gas station on the way home, I’m buying gum for the kids and the gal behind the counter says “Do you know what it is?  I’ve got two girls and two boys…” and it is at this point I realize that she thinks I am pregnant.  Using all my powers of self control not to lose my Schmidt and scream at the top of my lungs, I nod and smile and quickly leave.

Now, I am not a skinny gal.  I am not slight or svelte.  But neither am I rotund or Reubenesque.  What I am is a mom who has had three c-sections.  THREE!!!  And that’s bound to have some repercussions.  One of those repercussions is “mummy tummy” more formally known as diastasis recti.  Basically my abs have pulled so far apart from each other that it gives me a poochy tummy.  Okay, more than poochy, but still, I don’t think I look pregnant!

And anyway, that’s entirely beside the damn point.  The point is, it’s rude to assume someone is pregnant because they might not be.  I’m not.  I’m NOT I’M NOT I’M NOT!!!  So quit making comments like you know something.  Cause you don’t.  So there!

(and p.s. this is why I have my mummy tummy - and news flash... they're totally worth it!)(and p.s. – these little people are why I have my mummy tummy and they are 100% worth it. You can take that to the bank!)

One response »

  1. Liz i was laughing in part of your writing & the other part of others tenacity to say that. You never say that unless it’s glaringly obvious (as in when you were 35 weeks pregnant).

Leave a Reply

